Chicago Wolves Hosts Inaugural Metro Girls All Star Face Off

The inaugural Chicago Wolves Metro Girls All Star Face Off was held at the Allstate Arena on December 30, 2024. The line-up featured girls from every team in the Metro league that were nominated by their coaches based on their dedication, ability, leadership, team spirit, and year in school.

The Navy team included girls from Lake Forest Scouts, Grizzlies, Loyola, Lake Forest Academy, Maine and Barrington, and the White team was comprised of players from Fenwick, Evanston, Glenbrook, New Trier, Naper Valley and the Chicago Central Romans.  

The game was very exciting with the score tied 2-2 at the end of the second period. The White team pulled away in the third period, eventually winning the game 7-2. During the game, several players had multiple points. Amy Laskowski (Grizzlies) scored two goals, Morgan Hallberg (Fenwick) scored two goals and an assist, and McKenna Walsh (Naper Valley) scored a hat trick in the third period, including two unassisted goals.

The MVPs – that were selected by the opposing coaches – were Amy Laskowski for White and McKenna Walsh for Blue.

The game was very well attended with many teammates, friends, siblings, parents, aunts, uncles, and grandparents in attendance. After the game the players and their families enjoyed dinner hosted by the Wolves, and many returned to the arena to cheer on the Chicago Wolves as they took on the Cleveland Monsters.

During the period breaks, the Wolves arranged for girls from the league to participate in a fastest skate relay race which was won by the White team, and a thrilling shoot out contest. The Navy team won the shoot with the most thrilling part being when the goalies were given the opportunity to shoot on one another (they both scored!).

Thank you to all that participated, attended, and helped make this event a wonderful success. A special shout out to Tim Weaver and the Chicago Wolves for making this a truly memorable event for the girls and their families. What a fun way to end the year. We look forward to next year’s contest!